Day 07 – Someone who has made my life worth living for.

Posted on August 14, 2010

0


My mom.

She has such a resilience in life and hold no hard feelings towards the people who mistreated her. She’s strong and wish I had her strength.

My past grandfather died due to poisoning. I believe somebody killed him as what my mother told me. She once lived like a princess and being the youngest sibling, she was her father’s favorite child. They were rich and well-off when her father was still alive. But when he died, it devastated her and changed her life completely.

Her mom remarried but never came close to rich as before.

My mom, than a Christian married my dad who is a muslim. She quited her job to care for her children (me!). She devoted her life in raising us and cooking, washing for dad. Barely did anything for herself. She shied away from her friends. And even her family.

A doting and loyal wife.

There were times that what my dad did to her was so unforgivable that I’d forgive mom if she chose to leave him. But she held on. She forgive him. Wept and wiped dry her tears and stayed on.

Even when my dad lost his job and fell sick with a kidney problem that resorted to 3 times a week of dialysis, the past was never uttered and she still sticked to him like glue.

I’m glad my sisters weren’t big enough to understand the tough times that I endured when I was young. To them, my parents had a blissful marriage. To me……. hmmm…

just made me realize…. that not everything are what it seems to be.

And so… I got the strength to to move forward by just seeing the example my mom has set for me. Some day, I hope all her sacrifices are paid for. And living with that thought in mind just makes it priceless.

Waaaaa.. finally day 07. Stay tuned for day 08.

PS: resilience means – ‘The ability to recover quickly from illness, change, or misfortune; buoyancy.’ or ‘The property of a material that enables it to resume its original shape or position after being bent, stretched, or compressed; elasticity.’

